top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Patenaude

“Find your edge, then soften.” – Tara Brach

This is a post from my old blog, but it's a sentiment that I hope to continue practicing this school year.


"Every September, I slam on the accelerator. I do all the things. I X all the Y. As I write this post, I have about three separate to-do lists open in Google Keep. I’m sure that as I try to sleep tonight, my brain will churn up some new problem to fiddle with. I’ll get that familiar urge to get out of bed. I’ll think, My phone is right there, it will only take a second to write it down. But this year, my mantra has been 'Find your edge, and then soften.' It’s so easy for me to stay in that state of perpetual doing/thinking, but I’ve found that it’s neither practical nor sustainable. So, I invite you to join me in experimenting with this idea as you make your way through the 2018-2019 school year. Take your foot off the gas. Find your edge, that place where you get tunnel vision, where your heart races, where your shoulders tense, and soften into it. Let go a little. You’ll be surprised as to how much more you accomplish in this state of mind."

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page